Visiting a New Allergist — Before

So last night I had an allergic reaction to I-don’t-even-know-what. I made my own meal last night too, which is even scarier that it wasn’t an accidental cross-contamination at a restaurant. The only things I can think of?

  • There was cross-contamination at the Oroweat factory
  • I’ve developed a new allergy (crossing my fingers that it’s not that)

Fortuitously (if an allergic reaction could be considered fortuitous), I have an appointment with an allergist today!! This is my first time seeing an allergist since 2008, and the first time I’m seeing this allergist — so I’m a little anxious. 

Reasons why seeing a new allergist can be nerve-racking:

  • This allergist is more of a seasonal-allergy allergist, and not one specializing in food allergies, which means I’ll probably be referred to someone else after this. Which means my healthcare isn’t really going into effect just yet.
  • For some reason, I’m going to have to prove my allergies (because for some reason, blood tests aren’t proof enough). Which means I just spent the last 15 minutes going through all my photos since 2008 and found all of my allergic-reaction-photos.
  • My parents have had to deal with allergists who are new to the field and sometimes don’t fully understand the severity of food allergies on a day-to-day basis. “Just avoid the allergen” doesn’t always work because of cross-contamination, restaurant servers not aptly explaining the allergies to restaurant chefs, ingredient lists not being accurate, etc.

    So wish me luck . . . hopefully I’ll get a phenomenal allergist who understands food allergies and is willing to work with someone (me) who’s dealt with allergies wayyyyyy longer than that doctor has been in the field. 

    Funny how that works.

    Leave a Reply

    